January 2nd 2019

Why you need to re-run your reports

We didn’t just change our name today – we’ve rolled out an improved report design with new features for all our customers. To access these you need to re-run your reports.

Can I still see my old report?

If you want to access an old report, and it was run after November 1st 2018, you can still access it immediately. You’ll see a drop-down list of your old reports at the top of the screen. This is a static copy of your report, and you won’t be able to modify it (e.g. approve spelling errors). To modify a report you must first re-run it.

How do I re-run my report?

You’ll be asked to do this automatically when you view a report that requires it. If you don’t see a message asking you to do this (see the example above), your report has already been re-run and there’s nothing for you to do.

Will this use up any of my reports?

No. Re-running your report to upgrade it to the new format will not be charged for, or use up any of your existing credits. However once your report is in the new format, subsequent reports will be charged for as normal.

How long does it take?

On average, it will take slightly longer than testing the complete website. Depending on the size of your website that could be minutes or hours.

What has changed?

All of our tests have been redesigned to be easier to use, and more comprehensive. You’ll find a large number of new checkpoints, especially for SEO and User Experience.

The spelling test now shows a brief excerpt of where a spelling error occurred, even before you view it on the page. When a spelling error appears in a hidden area of the page, we do more to explain where the error is, for example saying “inside page title”. Each spelling error is now highlighted separately, if it is repeated on a page.

The broken links test now checks for named links to parts of a page, e.g. if you linked to page.html#news and #news did not exist on page.html, that is now detected as an error. These links to parts of a broken page at least take the user to a page, and so are not scored as severely as a normal broken link.

We’ve completely reworked our scoring system to be simpler and easier to understand. The major sections of your website are broken into 3 scores: ContentSEO, and User Experience. You can view a complete breakdown of each score, and see the exact checkpoints that contribute to them, right down to the individual page issues.

The website as a whole gains a new Overall score. Like the other summaries, you can now view exactly how this is calculated, and see what actions you need to perform to improve it.

Notification emails have been disabled

Unfortunately the new changes have temporarily disabled the automatic notification emails. We expect these to be working again very soon and will post an update on here when they are live again.

Have questions?

Almost every test and check we offer has been refined for our latest release. If you have any questions or would like us to talk you through the changes, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us via the chat button in the bottom right corner of our app.

Need more help?